Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar
BCHS choir 4/17 Career Expo 4/17 Break the Mold 4/17 Lemonade 4/17 Sportsmanship Award 4/17 Read Across America 3/17 COSI 3/17 Reading Buddies 3/17 Youth in Government 3/17
Sportsmanship Award 4/17 Read Across America 3/17 Youth in Government 3/17 Cooper cheeleader
Sportsmanship Award 4/17 Stephens Elementary 2/17 Penguins at Thornwilde 3/17 Support Staff 4/17 Read Across America 3/17
Odyssey of the Mind 2/17 Bring your dad to school day 2/17 Superintendent's Student Advisory Council 2/17 Cooper math students 12/16 Break the Mold 3/17 Kelly Science Fair 1/17 Mann Elementary 2/17 100 days at Thronwilde 100 days at Thornwilde Polar palooza 3/17 2017 NAACP Teacher of the Award 3/17 Super Mario Wall Ryle Haven Archery Parent Power 3/17 Conner Middle School Interactive Grinch Village Leader In Me at Longbranch Parent Power 3/17 Harry Potter Night BCEA Teacher of the Year 2/17 Career Day at Burlington Elementary Burlington Elementary career day Burlington Elementary career day Conner Pep Band 1/17 Harry Potter NIght Innovation Luncheon 2016 Ed Massey 20 years 1/17 Board Member Swearing In Longbranch students Burlington Elementary career day Leader in Me at Longbranch Innovation Luncheon 2016 Conner High School Class Medfest 2016 Student at National Sing-A-Long Day Strong Fathers at Florence Elementary CHS National Anthem Innovation Luncheon 2016 Superintendent's Student Advisory Council RA Jones First Day of School RA Jones First Day of School CES First Day of School Superintendent's Advisory Council National Sing-A-Long Day Choir CES First Day of School CES First Day of School CHS National Anthem EES Open House CHS National Anthem Kelly Elementary Playground Freedom Center National Sing-A-Long Day Student Ockerman Students at the Freedom Center School Board meeting National Sing-A-Long Day Makerspace Slave Pen at NURFC Students Archery Student National Underground Railroad Freedom Center Students Stuff the Bus

Latest News

Final Day of the School Year

In accordance with the Kentucky Statute, the Boone County Schools Board of Education has approved at its April Board Meeting that the last instructional day for students will be May 25th.  If the date of May 25th should need to be changed for any reason, the district's Board of Education will take further appropriate action regarding the school year calendar at its May meeting.

Cooper High School’s Student Leadership Council
Cooper High School’s Student Leadership Council (SLC) has been awarded a 2017 National Gold Council of Excellence Award by the National Association of Student Councils (NASC). Cooper is of only two high schools in the state Kentucky to receive this award. Councils must demonstrate things such as leadership training for council members, teacher/staff appreciation activities, student recognition programs, school and community service projects, spirit activities, goal setting, and financial planning. Those councils awarded the gold level have successfully demonstrated the highest levels of leadership. Congratulations!
Cooper council
3D Printer Showcase

Jones Middle School held its 3D Printer Showcase on Thursday. Students came up with an idea for an invention, designed a story board, and used a 3D printer to create their inventions. The students presented their inventions to a "shark tank" panel for the opportunity to earn a chance to present at the Greater Cincinnati STEM Collaborative showcase at UC.

3d printer club3d printer club

For more photos click here.

District Summer Credit

summer credit

Erpenbeck's Lemonade Stand

Erpenbeck Elementary wrapped up their project to help those strong kids battling childhood cancer with their tasty lemonade. Students and staff spent the week helping raise money for Alex's Lemonade Stand Foundation. Thank you to all that came out to support a great cause!

Lemonade standLemonade stand

For more photos click here.

R.A. Jones Honors Teams

Jones Middle School celebrated the success of their 8th Grade Girls' and 6th Grade Boys' Basketball Teams on Friday. The 8th Grade Girls finished their season as undefeated champions with an 18-0 record. The 6th Grade Boys came up one game short of an undefeated season, with their only loss in the championship game. The two teams matched up against the Jones staff for a friendly game to wrap up the year!

Jones basketballJones basketball

For more photos click here.

View All News

Our Mission

District Mission:  Representing and in partnership with our stakeholders, the Boone County School District recognizes that all children can learn and dedicates itself to providing a challenging educational environment that allows each student to achieve to his or her highest potential as a learner and citizen.

District Vision:  Every graduate ready for college, career, and life



  • 2016 PLTW Middle School Gateway Teacher of the Year: Todd Hanley-R.A. Jones Middle  School
  • 2016 Storer/Toyota Business Engagement Collaboration: Dr. Karen Cheser, Deputy Superintendent
  • 2016 Helen Carroll Champion of Education award: Sue Sorrell-Conner High 
  • 2016 Golden Apple award winners: Melissa Dunn-Yealey Elementary, Kyle Holloway-Erpenbeck Elementary, Elizabeth Kamradt-Conner Middle and William Kidwell-Gray Middle
  • 2016 Rotary Teachers of the Year: Chad Caddell-Stephens Elementary, Michelle David-Cooper High, Julia Hansel-Conner Middle 
  • 2016 KET Innovative Teacher Award: Regina Egbers-Gray Middle
  • 2016 KMEA State Elementary Music Teacher of the Year Award - Betty Webber-Erpenbeck Elementary
  • 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award – Superintendent Dr. Randy Poe
  • 2015 F.L. Dupree Outstanding Superintendent Award – Dr. Randy Poe
  • 2015 Outstanding Women of Northern Kentucky – Deputy Superintendent Dr. Karen Cheser
  • 2015 National Woman Administrator Award Finalist – Deputy Superintendent Dr. Karen Cheser 2015
  • A.D. Albright Outstanding Administrator Leader – Connie Crigger, Mann Elementary School Principal
  • 2015 Greater Cincinnati Teacher of Excellence – Alexandra Shepherd, Burlington Elementary School
  • 2015 Rotary Teachers of the Year: Valorie Cooper, Burlington Elementary School and Eric Blankenship Conner Middle School
  • 2015 National Outstanding Biology Teacher Award – Lenny Beck, Boone County High School
  • 2014-2015 Kentucky Counselor of the Year – Chris Deel, North Pointe Elementary School
  • 2014-2015 (72) National Board Certified Teachers 2015 Teacher of the Year Semi-finalists: Stacie Kegley, Longbranch Elementary & Victoria Yeomanson, Cooper High School
  • 2014 KASA Administrator of the Year – Erika Bowles, Longbranch Elementary School Principal
  • 2014 Kentucky PTA Outstanding Educator – Jim Detwiler, Stephens Elementary School Principal
  • 2014 National American History Teacher of the Year – Doug Logan, Ockerman Middle School
  • 2014 NTSA Distinguished Teaching Award – Tricia Shelton, Boone County High School
  • 2014 3C Outstanding Educator Award – Victoria Yeomanson, Cooper High School
  • 2013 Superintendent of the Year – Dr. Randy Poe, Boone County Schools 2013 KASA Administrator of the Year – Karen Cheser, Boone County Schools Deputy Superintendent
  • 2013 KASA Administrator of the Year – Tim Hitzfield, Conner High School Principal
  • 2013 Blue Ribbon School – Mann Elementary
  • 2013 Siemens Fellow – Melissa Stolz, R.A. Jones Middle School
  • 2013 Oasis Award Winner
  • 2013 Florence Rotary Club Teacher of the Year - Akrivi Watson, North Pointe Elementary
Contact Us
Boone County Schools8330 US Highway 42
Florence, KY 41042
View Map & Directions
Phone: 859.283.1003
Fax: 859.282.2376